17 Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs)  Agenda 2030 – The World Future Contract

At the Sustainable Development Summit of the United Nations (UN) in September 2015, the Agenda 2030 agreement was adopted by all UN member states. This represents a milestone in recent UN history – the international community agreed on the political goals necessary to safeguard globally sustainable development. The Agenda 2030 is binding for all developing, emerging, and industrialised countries. It sets out the necessary guidelines that need to be followed in order for human development to be socially just, to manage its own ecological limits and risks, and to preserve the natural world for future generations. 

At the heart of the Agenda, 17 goals and 169 sub-goals for sustainable development (Sustainable Development Goals, SDGs) were defined. These goals grant equal weight to every aspect of sustainability: social, environ­mental, and economic. They cannot be separated; they are mutually dependent and must be addressed together. The SDGs centre on five key messages that provide guiding principles to illustrate the interdependencies inherent in their implementation: people, planet, prosperity, peace, and partnership. The work of the Heinz Sielmann Stiftung contributes to fulfilling the Sustainable Development Goals, and the foundation views these goals as a benchmark for its work. 

Get in touchContact us

Natalie Klein
Advisor for International Cooperation

Heinz Sielmann Stiftung
Dyrotzer Ring 4
DE-14641 Wustermark OT Elstal

Phone: +49 (0)5527 914432
Mobile: +49 (0)151 17156607
E-Mail: natalie.klein(at)sielmann-stiftung.de